November 10, 2015
Oregon has passed a law requiring employers to provide sick leave to employees starting on January 1, 2016. Employers with ten or more employees (or employers with Portland operations and six or more employees anywhere in Oregon) will be required to provide up to five paid sick days per year to its employees, and employers with fewer employees will be required to provide up to five unpaid sick days.
Businesses that already have a sick leave or vacation policy that provide for at least five paid leave days, whether those days are classified as sick days, vacation days or other paid time off, will not be required to change their time off policies.
For businesses that do not have an established leave policy as described above, they will need to adhere to the employee accrual guidelines as set by the Oregon Paid Sick Leave (OSPL) law. First, most all employees (there are very few exceptions) are eligible to accrue leave; part-time, exempt, even temporary. Employees earn leave at a rate of 1 hour per 30 hours worked, or 1 1/3 hours per 40 hours worked. Exempt employees accumulate their leave based on their regularly worked hours regardless of the exact number of hours worked. Employees are allowed to accrue up to 80 hours per year but employers have the option to limit the use of sick leave to 40 hours per year.
For questions regarding this new law, please call our office at 541-388-7888, and we can provide you with more detail relating to how the number of employees is determined, rollover & payout requirements, employee exceptions and answer any other questions that you may have.
With summer right around the corner, it is time to remind you that June 17th is the due date for the second quarter estimated tax payments. If you are required to make estimated tax payments, use the payment vouchers that you received following the completion of filing your 2018 returns.
If you have not finalized your 2018 taxes and you believe that you may...
With taxes due in the upcoming days, you should be on high alert for fraudulent calls claiming to be from the Internal Revenue Service. These scammers insist that you owe money to the government. Then, they threaten you with loss of your driver’s license, arrest, or even deportation. Once they’ve caught you off guard, they’ll insist that you send the money using a prepaid...
With 2019 officially here, it is time to remind you that January 15th is the due date for the fourth quarter estimated tax payments. If you are required to make estimated tax payments, use the payment vouchers that you received after filing your 2017 returns.
Remember, if you do not pay enough tax by the due date of each payment period, you may be charged a penalty when you file your...